Workday Schedule

Friends of the Chicago Portage volunteer workdays are usually conducted on the last Saturday of every month (except in December) from 9AM to Noon in Portage Woods Forest Preserve (4800 S. Harlem). NO EXPERIENCE NECESSARY!

Dress appropriately for the weather and wear workclothes, workgloves and heavy boots or workshoes. We'll supply tools, gloves, training, guidence, friendship and refreshments. We meet in the parking lot in front of the statue in Portage Woods Forest Preserve.

Our workday activities change with the seasons. Spring is the time to remove garlic mustard and plant native species. Summer finds us keeping the trails clear of encroaching vegetation and removing European buckthorn. Fall is the time to collect seeds, plant natives, cut buckthorn and build brushpiles. In winter we stay warm by burning the buckthorn brushpiles in giant bonfires, we toast marshmallows and our no-good cook Pierre warm's his delicious Portage pea soup in the coals.

Call Gary Mechanic at 773-590-0710 (cell) for
more information and to check on weather cancellations.

Visit the Chicago Portage Workday Volunteers on Facebook.

spacer bar

2016 Workdays

Saturday, January 30, 2016

Saturday, February 27,

Saturday, March 26,

Saturday, April 30,

Saturday, May 28,

Saturday, June 25,

Saturday, July 30,

Saturday, August 27,

Saturday, September 24,

Saturday, October 29,

Saturday, November 26, Volunteer Appreciation Picnic Bring your Thankgiving Day leftovers!

Saturday, December 17, Bonfire Party! Note: This is NOT the last Saturday Celebrate winter, the solstice and the year's end all in one hot party in the woods!

spacer bar

UP

Home

logo

 

 

 

workday volunteers

Friends' volunteers work like beavers weeding the woods

School and other groups are invited to visit the site to help with restoration activities or for tours and interpretive programs. Weekday group ecological restoration workdays will be conducted by Forest Preserve District staff on the last Friday of every month from 10AM to Noon. Contact the Forest Preserve District staff at the Little Red Schoolhouse 708-839-6897 to arrange weekday workdays or visits.